Transferring Google Analytics Accounts

If you’re like me, back in the murky past your created a few (or several) Google Analytics accounts to track all manner of web sites and other online shenanigans.  And now you want to consolidate without losing any data.

For some reason Google’s patent reply to this (probably) common interest is to state that transferring account data is not possible.  But actually it’s quite easy.  At least, it’s quite easy once you’ve played around with your various Google accounts for a few hours and finally figured out how administrator assignment works.

To do a “transfer”, all you have to do is:

  1. Create the new Google Account to which you want to transfer control.
  2. Log in as the original Google Analytics Administrator account.
  3. Assign a the new account “Administrator” access.  (Edit -> Users with Access to Profile -> Add User)  Be sure to give this new user the “Administrator” access type.
  4. Login to the new account.
  5. Change the original Administrator account to “User” (don’t forget this step)
  6. Delete the original account.

Easy peasy.

Just note that if you have a bunch of analytics site data all tied together under one profile, then all of it will transfer together.  As far as I can tell, there is no way to uncouple this.  And this is probably what Google is referring to when they say that ownership cannot be transferred.

2 thoughts on “Transferring Google Analytics Accounts

  1. Hi,
    How about when you already have 6 websites under the same account, and you want to move only 3 to a new account?

    I think that is not possible yet

  2. Sheesh, thanks for the downer one star vote, Pablo. It’s been a while since I’ve had to look into this, but I suspect the above process would work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *